Cooking up some anti-diabetes

The obesity epidemic. 

I’m sure you’ve heard it all before, the national crisis on our television screens, the invisible enemy, the first world at war with their own waistsizes. 

At University, we’re prepped to know all about diabetes, obesity, cardiovascular disease and drug interactions. Yet knowledge is useless unless you act on it. 

Too many times I’ve met very educated people who have the equivalent of Masters in health, feeding their kids cheese and bacon balls. 

 

these dreaded things
 
Retirees who’ve been in the health industry for over four decades- giving children cocopops cereal at midnight just before bed. I’m no saint of nutrition, but it’s the ignorance of intelligent people who really grind my gears. 

According to the 2014 Australian health survey data:

Around 92% of adults were not eating enough vegetables, and only 49% were eating enough fruit for optimum nutrition

Abs.gov.au

We’re obviously eating ENOUGH, we’re just eating the WRONG THINGS. 

In the end, I believe it comes down to Time. Time and your level of giving a sh*t. 

So this week, I’ve decided to really give it a shot, is it that hard to just prepare food yourself? 

Now I’m at university everyday, and I go to the gym usually twice daily. I work on the weekends. Usually, my parents are off globe-trotting so I have the house empty for weeks at a time. 

 I’m looking at the average weekly diet of Australians and recreating it, making it not only healthier BUT ALSO CHEAPER. 

Now who doesn’t want that?

I’ll start next week, when the parents are both off on a cruise.

#mastercheftimesahead

let me know your thoughts, have you noticed friends, family, associates who blindly eat doughnuts like there’s no tommorow? Don’t you just want to scream at them? 

Maybe you should.

Side note: apologies for the lack of posting as of late, I got caught with the flu and have been idly bedbound for the past few days, staring at the ceiling and plotting my revenge on the kids that infected me.  
===Anna Freeman===

=== Student Dietitian===

 

One thought on “Cooking up some anti-diabetes

  1. Do you think people eat the Cheese and Baconballs etc because they taste good now and the bad consequences are later? Change can be terrifying to some even if that means things will be better. Keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

